Developing Reading in Children

Developing Leisure Reading (Skills) in Children

There is no doubt that developing leisure reading in children opens doors for real individual development. Reading skills for children opens new avenues to learn about various domains, develop imagination and story development, improve language skills and vocabulary and many more.  To me, the most important door that reading opens is individual self-development in kids – one starts developing oneself by reading books.

Just about 9 years old is almost the right age and time for kids to start the mainstream story books. With all the competition from competitive academics, video-games, karate classes, Youtube, Netflix and a gazillion activities that your kid does in the day, probably the most important activity is to make him or her read for 20-30 minutes per day for the joy of it without an objective. Have them read a nice story book or introduce them to a wonderful book series.

Children learn more quickly between 0 to 8 years of age. Preschoolers need exposure to several different opportunities to read and develop their imagination and skills.

It is important for children to see reading as something fun and pleasurable to do rather than a difficult task. What better way to teach this than to show them the ropes by yourself! If your children see you reading often, it is more likely to encourage them. This will also help to promote time away from screens. And, when your child finds a great book, they’ll fall in love with a whole new world, with characters and places and situations.

The right book series will have your child read for fun for days and weeks, gradually drawing her into the fantastical world of the human imagination. And if that first series does its magic, your child will be a that-much-better reader when she goes in search of her next reading adventure.

Three book series for your third graders:

  • The Ramona series (Ramona the Pest, Beezus and Ramona, etc.) by Beverly Cleary
  • Tía Lola series (How Tia Lola Came to Stay, How Tia Lola Saved the Summer, etc.) by Julia Alvarez
  • The Captain Underpants series (The Adventures of Captain Underpants, Captain Underpants and the Perilous Plot of Professor Poopypants, etc.) by Dav Pilkey.
  • How Tia Lola Came To Stay (The Tia Lola Series) by Julia Avarez
  • Clementine by Sarah Pennypacker
  • Freddy the Detective series by Walter R. Brooks

Hope this is useful, thank you.

As a separate interest for children, if you’re interested to introduce children to coding, then click here.

You may like to read – The benefits of Gifted Education, Positive Parenting for Character Development in Children, & Online Math Classes & Tuitions